The Center for Iberian and Latin American Music at the University of California, Riverside, is pleased to announce the results of the 2020 Otto Mayer-Serra Competition, for the best unpublished essays on Iberian and Latin American Music, in either historical musicology or ethnomusicology.  This annual competition honors the memory of the Spanish-Mexican musicologist Otto Mayer-Serra (1904-68) and seeks to continue his legacy of groundbreaking research.  The OMS competition accepts submissions in Spanish or Portuguese.  The first-prize award is for $1,400, and second prize, $700.  Both prize-winning articles are published in the peer-reviewed online journal Diagonal:  An Ibero-American Music Review

(  Information about the 2021 competition will be available this coming summer.

2020 Otto Mayer-Serra Competition Results

First Prize
Diego García-Peinazo (Universidad de Granada): “Carlos Cano, voz capturada en una Andalucía A duras penas (1976).  Canción de protesta social, ambiente persónico e identidades transfonográficas en la Transición Española”

Second Prize
Antonio Campos Monteiro Neto (Independent Scholar) and Marcelo Campos Hazan (University of South Carolina):  “‘Ó! Rigor duro da Lei’: A miséria e a paixão do Padre José Maurício Nunes Garcia (1767-1830)”

Honorable Mention
Silvia Citro and Adriana Cerletti (both at Universidad de Buenos Aires):  “Devenires del canto de las mujeres qom del Chaco argentino:  Del espacio doméstico indígena al espectáculo híbrido intercultural”

The Center for Iberian and Latin American Music is grateful to the large number of scholars who submitted outstanding essays to this year’s competition and looks forward to future contributions.  It especially wishes to thank the distinguished panel of judges who reviewed the submissions:

  • Michael Christoforidis (Chair), The University of Melbourne
  • Cristina Magaldi, Towson University
  • Jacqueline Avila, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

The Ibero-American Music Study Group of the American Musicological Society is now receiving proposals for our third sponsored Lightning Lounge event to take place in the 87th Annual Meeting of the AMS, November 4–7, 2021.

We invite 7-minute presentations that explore the issue of “Music and Migration, Exile, or Diaspora.” Proposals may refer to any kind of musical activity involving migration, exile, or diaspora from and to the Iberian Peninsula, Latin America, and the Caribbean in any time frame. Possible topics may include but are not limited to composers, performers, and music scholars who either chose or had to relocate because of their political affiliations, sexual orientation, or lack of economic opportunities; the construction of historical narratives that either include or exclude these musicians; and individual or collective stories of exile, or displacement.

*While proposals with this emphasis will be prioritized, other topics are welcomed too.

If you are interested in being one of the presenters, please submit a Word document with a title and short abstract (150-200 words), institutional affiliation (if applicable), and tech requirements to a.s.rojo –at– no later than March 1, 2021. The subject of the email should be “[LastName] IAMSG Proposal.” Proposals can be in English, Portuguese, or Spanish.